PROPERTIES OF THE FCHS
The "Old Jail"
The Old Jail at 175 East King Street in Chambersburg, PA is home to the Franklin County Historical Society - Kittochtinny. It also houses a museum of local artifacts and a genealogical library. The Old Jail was lised on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.
The John Brown House
The John Brown House (Ritner Boarding House) is located a block east of the Old Jail at 225 East King Street. It was here that the famous abolitionist boarded during the summer of 1859 under the alias of Isaac Smith. During this time, weapons were secretly secured and plans furthered to seize the arsenal at in October 1859.
The John Brown House was rededicated and opened on May 2, 2009 as part of the 150th Anniversary of John Brown's raid on Harpers Ferry. For 150th Anniversary events and a calendar see . For full information on the John Brown House including hours and admission see http://johnbrownhouse.tripod.com.
The society was able to purchase the John Brown House from the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission in 2002 through the generosity of Dr. W. R. McElroy and family.
The John Brown House was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.
The Brown's Mill School
In 2002 the FCHS purchased the Brown's Mill School from the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission through the generosity of Thomas G. and Nancy H. Burkey and Family. The school is dedicated to the memory of the Honorable Enos H. Horst and Mildred Sheller Horst. The FCHS, The Franklin County Chapter of the Pennsylvania Association of School Retirees, and the Kauffman Ruritan cooperate in its operation and maintenance.
The Brown's Mill School was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973.
Brown's Mill School is open for summer tours on weekends. Adults $2; ages 6 -17 $1; Maximum family charge is $10. FCHS-K members FREE.
Carrick Furnace, a relic of the early iron industry in Franklin County , was built in 1828 and last fired in 1884. Some of its steam-powered equipment still stands on the site. It is located on the west side of Route 75 in Metal Township, a few miles north of Fort Loudon.
The FCHS obtained the Furnace in 1934 by deed for a consideration of $1 from the executors of the estate of the former owner.
Carrick Furnace was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991.
St. Thomas Toll House
The St. Thomas Toll House
The Carrick Furnace
The Brown's Mill School